Working two “jobs” in Nepal!

14 Jul

Ed's Nepali Office.jpg

 

When I write “Working Two “Jobs” in Nepal it isn’t quite correct, as what I do here is a labor of Love! Julia took a shot of me working outside my room on a leasing update for Seattle Data Center Space.  That is Franny sitting Nepali style with the children behind me.  She is teaching them cursive writing (at their request) and I’m always amazed at how attentive the Kopila Kids are to learning here.  They sat with here for almost two hours and by the time they finished they were writing phrases and sentences in cursive.

Julia is doing a much better job posting here, but I needed to let everyone know I’m alive and can still write!  What follows is a post I just did on my LinkIn page so that my work colleagues and friends will know what I am up to.  It will be old news to Julia’s and my loyal followers (thousands of you I am sure) but please be encouraged to share it with your friends and family who might not know about Maggie and her incredible program.

I spend most of my days, and some nights, teaching children how to hang fly paper, install window latches, deal with compost and “remember to turn off the water so we don’t waste it”! I am volunteering for BlinkNow.org, a Childrens Home and School started by my niece, CNN Hero of the Year, Maggie Doyne. Maggie is the legal guardian of 50 children and started a school that now has almost 400 Kopila Kids. I love the work I do in the Seattle tech space, but it doesn’t compare to the satisfaction I get from teaching these Kopila Kids life skills I learned from my soon to be 69 years! The new school campus we are building here will be one of, if not the best, school in Nepal with rammed earth buildings, solar power, aquaponics, sustainable agriculture that feeds the Kopila Kids, and a suspension bridge that will knock your socks off! The Nepalis, volunteers from around the world, and their fearless leader, Maggie Doyne are “Changing the World in the Blink of an Eye!” I invite you to check it out.

Leave a comment