Honey and Bees at Kopila

17 Jul

You may know already that there are several bee boxes at Kopila due to the famous bee keeper Orren who came for a visit. We have two boxes at the house and two or three at the new land. When I first arrived I asked the kids; why do we have the bees and will they make honey? They didn’t seem to know. 

Yesterday, K came out of the garden with a bee keepers gown on and a huge pile of honey comb. I guess that answers my question, yes we are making honey. 

I could hardly believe how much honey came out of the comb, maybe close to 1 1/2 cups! It’s so amazing how bees just know how to make honey! I must say my mind was truly blown away. 



Here is a video of Orren at the”Do Lectures”. 

http://www.thedolectures.com/orren-fox-barefoot-bee-keeper/#.V4ra2PQXenM

2 Responses to “Honey and Bees at Kopila”

  1. knagle08 July 17, 2016 at 3:49 am #

    This is awesome! Can you raise bees now? I’ll help you harvest the honey comb!

Leave a comment