Working at Kopila

26 Jul

Since Ed wrote such a great blog about what he does while he is in Nepal I thought I better do the same. 

The question is what the heck do I do while I’m in Nepal besides love on the kids, so here I go! 

 1. Assist with the communication for the child sponsors. Letters to sponsors, data entry and updating photo’s!


2. I connected Blinkow with a new potential child file database. This will increase their ability to track each individual child. (www.runsandbox.com) 

3. Sanitation- I created a bleach system for washing the dishes, before it was cold water and soap, now also a bleach rinse. 

4. Help write a blog post for Blinknow on making Momo’s. 

http://www.blinknow.org/journal/entry/wanna-make-momos

5. Created and started a leadership team for the house kids. The idea is that these kids will lead the house and teach their siblings how to be better leaders so they can “grow up and OUT”!

6. Support the kids as they watched two close women die and leave their children behind. 

Of all the things I did while I was here the last might have been the most important. We have a saying at work “the interruption is the job”. Sometimes you go into a job or adventure thinking you will do one thing and suddenly things change.  Although these past few weeks have been hard I’m so glad that I was the one who was here for the kids. 

Leave a comment