Traveling Observations

8 Jul

We arrived in Katmandu after 30 hours of traveling door to door (two planes, 3 buses, one tram and two taxi’s). Oh and yes, we still have one more travel day (one taxi, one plane and a 3 hour jeep ride through the jungle). Needless to say we are both super tired. 

1. Getting bumped to Business Class was the most amazing thing I have ever experienced. From the pull-out bed to the 4 course meals, hot lavender towels to wash your hands, unlimited movies and even stars on the ceiling when they turned out the lights. I felt as I imagine I may feel when I get to heaven, undeserving and unmeasurably happy. 


2. As soon as we got to the flight from Dubai to Katmandu I noticed that the people no longer had any sense of organization. I mean imagine 50 kids trying to exit the classroom at the same time for recess. That’s how I would describe getting on that flight to arriving in Kathmandu to getting our checked baggage (which all made it!). I guess that’s one thing that I forgot about. 


3. We were offered to stay the night with some friends of one of the fellows in Kathmandu. Uncle Ed has been here before so he knew it was amazing. This is a family who lives in Katmandu and works at the USA embassy. Let’s just say I don’t feel like I’m in Nepal in this house. There is crown modeling on the walls and a real toilet and shower!! This was also a huge travel blessing. 


We are off for our last leg of the trip. First, a flight to Nepal Guange and then a jeep ride through the jungle to Surkhet. This is always my favorite part of the journey. Katmandu is relatively modern in terms of developing countries. Once we get on the jeep we are deep in Nepal. Mud huts, people sitting outside everywhere, farm lands, and of course the jungle. 

Until next time!

Julia Erman

One Response to “Traveling Observations”

  1. knagle08 July 10, 2016 at 6:44 am #

    Loved all the pics! Can’t wait to hear more about the sustainability stuff, that’s awesome! Your vegetarian meal on the plane (hehe) looked delicious! Thankful that you are safe, are having fun and able to see old friends and probably make new ones too! Have fun!

Leave a comment